Thread: Some Help Getting things set up

Default Some Help Getting things set up

Hello all,

I am new to this and not super experienced with the IT side of things.

I have acquired a server and am attempting to turn it into my own little render farm but I have hit a few roadblocks.

For the record, I mainly use Daz3D for now and hope to be able to connect to my server to free up my system while the images are rendering.

I'll go through what I have tried so far to give you a better picture of where I'm at.

On a fresh install of Ubuntu I managed to get Iray Server running and logged into it on both machines. I had to go with Linux due to windows not supporting four processors(even win10 workstation pro won't let you render with all four, only two at a time) and windows server is way too expensive for my 40 core beast.

Please pardon my inexperience, as this is the first time attempting anything like this.

That all took a while but I have now hit a couple things I just have no idea about, and cannot find anything similar in the forums.

First is that Iray Server can't load the Cornell Box Benchmark, which I am unsure as to why as this comes with Iray Server. I get a message saying "No supported versions". Unfortunately I have no idea what Iray server is asking for, shouldn't it be able to render it's own benchmark out of the box?

Is there something I need to load for this to work? It has a minimal 2gb GPU just for the monitor as I wish it to use the CPU's until I can afford another M6000.

I have attached the first image which shows the error message, and I will include the log file JIC someone knows how to parse that.

Attachment 10669

My second issue is connecting Daz3D to the server.

My Iray Server web interface loads fine on my workstation and I am able to log in, but when I direct Daz3D to connect it is unable to. The second image I have posted are from the workstation.

Attachment 10670