Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Iray for 3ds Max 1.6.2 is released

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    33

    Exclamation Iray for 3ds Max 1.6.2 is released

    Iray for 3ds Max version 1.6.2 is now available for download. This is a bugfix release and also upgrades the underlying Iray engine to the latest 2017.1.4 version. The following bugs have been fixed:



    • Issues with dark artefacts appearing on some geometry (particularly glass) have been fixed (forum link).
    • MAXScript error when switching to the Iray+ (or Iray+ Interactive) renderer has been fixed (forum link).
    • Reduced occurrence of GPU failure in some render scenarios.



    ** DOWNLOAD NO LONGER AVAILABLE **

    *Stay tuned for our de-noising update for Iray for 3ds Max, coming very soon.
    Last edited by Lightworks; 13th August, 2019 at 13:12.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Berlin - Germany
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Hi Lightworksteam.

    thank you for the Bug Fix, but the Specular Highlights Bug is not fixed. NVidia have say to me the new kernel have fixed this Bug. Why it is not fixed! I have now a big Problem to use iray anymore. Sorry the next Project is not with iray+. The Client need clean Image without overbright Pixels. Please release a new Bug fix. You must understand me. I make Money this your Software, and it must work now. Overbright Pixel from a render engine is today a 120% No Go.

    cheers
    thorsten
    Infinity Vision Home: http://www.infinity-vision.de

    Photostudio Pro: http://www.infinity-vision.de/software/photo-studio/
    ShaderUtilities Pro: http://www.infinity-vision.de/software/shader-utilities/
    Render Optimizer: http://www.infinity-vision.de/software/render-optimizer/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    235

    Default

    Hi Thorsten,

    Unfortunately the bug you refer to is not fixed in the latest version of Iray (2017.1.4) and so there is nothing we can do about that at this time. As soon as we have a fix for this we will release another bug fix version.

    Michael
    QA Engineer, Lightworks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Berlin - Germany
    Posts
    136

    Default

    ohoh, ok. i understand. But i have here E-Mail with the answer that ist fixed. Ok i must wait. But sorry the next Project i must do with a other Engine. I hope the next iray+ Version have this Bug fix.

    cheers
    thorsten
    Infinity Vision Home: http://www.infinity-vision.de

    Photostudio Pro: http://www.infinity-vision.de/software/photo-studio/
    ShaderUtilities Pro: http://www.infinity-vision.de/software/shader-utilities/
    Render Optimizer: http://www.infinity-vision.de/software/render-optimizer/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    152

    Default

    i crash trying to install it. it starts showing copying files to C:\ drive and then after no more than 5-10 seconds, it crashes and does not install! windows 7 pro 64bit max 2017 and full admin rights to my machine.

    EDIT: i tried installing the previous version and it's failing too! I can't use iray plugin at all now! ugh. i'll check on my side and see if there something weird.

    in the meant time, how can i make sure i uninstall the right things to hopefully do a clean install? thanks!

    ha ha! i just used the uninstall.exe file in the 3ds max plugins folder and now the new version installs fine. awesome!
    Last edited by grue19; 19th March, 2018 at 14:57.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    152

    Default

    ok so, i got v1.6.1 re-installed and was able to work. i've re-downloaded 1.6.2. this time around, the installer for 1.6.2 notified that i had a previous version installed would i like to remove - yes. then i got to the "extracting files" part and crashed again. no error, it just stops and the install window disappears. the path it uses is my c drive install/plugins path for max 2017. nothing unusual there.

    i tried installing several more times, each successive try after the first try it does not detect a previous version. again tried with admin rights both computer and network and install fails. i'll try removing everything in plugins folder. otherwise don't know what's up.

    thanks,

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    152

    Default Please help asap!!!!

    now, the 1.6.2 download installs, but irayplugin is reported as 1.6.2 and an issue i had in file with that glass/thin objects is still happening. see screen shots. 1st is what i renamed using the "old" in the name, the new installer created "new" folder and new dlr file. however like i said iray is reported as 1.6.1 see 2nd screen shot. NEED HELP FAST!!!

    here is the file name that was downloaded: IFMAX_2017-1.6.2-127200.exe

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Clipboard01.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	30.6 KB 
ID:	10357

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Clipboard02.jpg 
Views:	41 
Size:	26.6 KB 
ID:	10358

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Berlin - Germany
    Posts
    136

    Default

    i have the same Version Number as gru19. Its a mistake in Versionnumber, or what we do wrong? I use 3dsmax2016!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screenshot.jpg 
Views:	41 
Size:	165.5 KB 
ID:	10359

    cheers
    thorsten
    Infinity Vision Home: http://www.infinity-vision.de

    Photostudio Pro: http://www.infinity-vision.de/software/photo-studio/
    ShaderUtilities Pro: http://www.infinity-vision.de/software/shader-utilities/
    Render Optimizer: http://www.infinity-vision.de/software/render-optimizer/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    235

    Default

    Apologies for the confusion. The "About" dialogue in Max only shows the major revision number of the plugin (1.6 in this case), the number after that is an internal revision number. But the version you both have is 1.6.2.

    Thorsten - we wouldn't recommend having two versions installed at once with the rename you have used. We have other assets in other places as well (e.g. in the en-US folder there, or max script files in other places) and you may end up with a mixture of versions if you do this.
    QA Engineer, Lightworks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Berlin - Germany
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Hi Michael,

    ah all ok i understand. Here works the installer perfect. The installer ask for uninstall the old version, and than he install the new Version.

    cheers
    thorsten
    Infinity Vision Home: http://www.infinity-vision.de

    Photostudio Pro: http://www.infinity-vision.de/software/photo-studio/
    ShaderUtilities Pro: http://www.infinity-vision.de/software/shader-utilities/
    Render Optimizer: http://www.infinity-vision.de/software/render-optimizer/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •